Famous people who died at 27

– Kurt Cobain – Lead singer of Nirvana
– Jim Morrison – Lead singer of The Doors
– Janis Joplin -Musician
– Jimi Hendrix – Musician
– Jonathan Brandis – Actor
The Elephant Man – Side show performer
I just turned 27 two days ago. It’s an odd age. You’re officially in your late 20’s. There aren’t really any other mile stones anymore until 65. You’re old enough to enlist in the army. You’re old enough to drink in bars. You’re old enough to rent a car. So really, all you’re waiting for now is to turn 65 so that you can start collecting social security.
I don’t really feel that much older. In fact, I still feel super young, and lost, and vulnerable. I thought I’d be well into a full time career by now when in reality, I think I’m just beginning again.
Where do I go from here? Am I too old to just drop everything and travel now? Should my priorities start changing?  Am I going to start feeling a pit in my gut everytime I walk past a Baby Gap?
I don’t know. Life is so weird and great and unexpected. It’s scary and it sucks and I’m still learning to take its punches like a champ.
I got a new apartment in the city. I’m officially out of my parents’ house again though I hardly feel like I’m leaving the nest for a second time.
I don’t think I quite know how to build my own yet…
2 responses to “Famous people who died at 27

  1. Just wanted to throw a few more at you… Chris Bell (co-founder of Big Star), D. Boon (Minutemen), Kristen Pfaff (bassist Hole) and Mia Zapata (singer Gits). But if you’re truly trying to be a scribe, pop culture criticizer and prophet… you wanna shoot for 33. That was the age for Jesus and Lester Bangs.

Leave a Reply

