Gen Y: the rich generation?

Remember that post where I compared Generation Y to Peter Pan’s Lost Boys? Well, I don’t think that I was entirely correct with that analogy.

Last week, I had the luxury of sitting down with a couple of my close friends who I haven’t seen in awhile. The conversation naturally turned to jobs and job losses. We all agreed that it was a difficult time for people in their twenties who were just starting out in the work force. We also all agreed that it was a tough blow to lose your job right before your career had even taken off.

Before I was laid-off, I thought 9 to 5ers were the end all, be all of jobs. I considered myself lucky to be slaving away at a job I disliked for 40 hours a week to make ends meet. I never even considered the possibility of doing anything else.

Being let go from your full time, 40 hour a week gig is not the end of the world. I think that I was wrong in calling Gen Y the “Lost Generation.” Yes, a lot of us are getting a slow start in the work force because of the rigid economy. But on the other side of the coin, there are tons of us forging our own unique career paths. Thanks to the Internet, we have become our own bosses. We have created our own companies and are thriving.

I’ve been supporting myself solely by writing for the past month now. The real test is when I move out of my parent’s house and back into the city, which could possibly happen as soon as next week. The thought of paying bills again and re-entering the real world, not as a full time career gal, but as a freelance writer, horrifies me.

You can never take the scary completely out of life. Even if I were to get another full time job, there are no guarantees that I would keep that job for the rest of my life. I could be laid off again at anytime.

So really, it’s all just a big experiment. You make choices, take risks, evaluate the consequences, and follow the road that gives you joy. Life is all about flux. We could become rich. We could end up poor. I could either succeed greatly at this freelancing thing, or I could go nowhere at all with it. But at least I have a “where” to go to.

Leave a Reply

