the joys of working from home when your home is your parents’ house

Picture it: I am in my bedroom at my parents’ house surrounded by the dolls and pee-wee soccer trophies of my yesteryears. I am on the phone with a very important man for a very important interview so I can write an article for a very important magazine. All of a sudden and out of nowhere, my mother comes into my room and asks loudly, “I’m going to the grocery store, sweetie. Do you need any tampons?” 

There is dead silence for a couple of seconds before I realize that there is a man on the other end of the line and that this man has definitely heard my mother. “Um, so, uh, yah….”

One of the things that I’ve had to adjust my life to is working from home and around the schedule of my parents. I have to use the family computer that is located in the livingroom to write because there is no room for me to put my own, anywhere. This means that I have to plan my work time around football games, vaccuming of carpets, and Dancing with the Stars. Today, I was almost done writing one article that I had spent hours working on. I was an idiot and hasn’t hit “save.” Out of nowhere, one of my mother’s exuberant labradors came charging at me and unplugged the computer with his leg.

One of the benefits of working from home is that I can wear absolutely disgusting clothing to work and everybody would be none-the-wiser. I can also eat huge amounts of ice cream and have a beer at 3pm (while at work!!!).

One of the disadvantages of working from home when your home happens to be Mom and Dad’s is the constant stream of opera music that fills the house. My parents don’t even speak Italian so why do they have to listen to Italian opera? Also today, since my parents live at the beach, the roads were flooded with ocean water and I could not leave the house. Seriously, there was fish swimming in our driveway.

Life is about adjusting. It’s not always about comfortable adjusting, but you need to learn how to adapt none-the-less. Living with my parents isn’t as bad as living with some of the roommates I have had, but I have definitely learned how to compromise, which I think will be to my advantage in the future.

4 responses to “the joys of working from home when your home is your parents’ house

  1. good luck… if you do move over here… come stay with us for a bit… or we can sort you out for something… ❤

  2. Love your blog! I just moved home recently as well, and have dedicated my blog to all of the adventures I’ve had while living with my parents. Check it out! http://stillsneakingout.wordpress.com/

Leave a Reply

