It’s not me. It’s totally you.

Being passed up by a potential employer is kind of like being dumped by a boyfriend. The feeling of rejection and inadequacy runs rampant through your veins. You start questioning your self-worth and want to sit infront of your television watching Jerry Springer or any other show that depicts people worse off than you are with a pint of ice-cream and a bottle of wine. Or at least that’s what I do.

Rejection in any form really, really sucks. It’s especially brutal if you’ve been unemployed for the last two months and the possibility of moving back in with Mom and Dad and sleeping underneath your Rainbow Bright comforter from 1987 is very, very high. Goodbye dignity. Goodbye buzzing social life. Goodbye boyfriend.

I had a stunning interview last week. Simply stunning. I brought my game face. I brought my grown-up binder full of grown-up, published clippings. I wore my big girl clothes. I answered their questions with impeccable grace. I sent the thank you card. I accepted the fact that it’d be a paycut and that the benefits sucked. But I’d still have my independence if I got the job. I’d still be able to live in Philly.

Aaaaaand I didn’t get it. I was rejected. I was rejected by a job that I was overqualified for, by a job that I didn’t even want in the first place.

The thing that I forgot to realize is that I have choices. Yes, I didn’t get the job. But that is not the end of the world. I have other interviews lined up. There will be other jobs, other rejections, and other opportunities.

Not getting a job that you didn’t even want in the first place isn’t the end of the world. You have to keep in mind that thousands of Americans are unemployed and getting rejected by all kinds of jobs. It’s not you. You totally rock. It’s the times. It’s the economy.

I need to learn to enjoy this time of (f)unempoyment. I mean, when else in my life will I not have a job and yet have a steady income? God forbid it happens again when I have a family or own a house. But now, it’s only me and the dog and the cat, and they’re both getting fed like royalty. Life has a plan for me. Things will work out. It’ll be okay.

Leave a Reply

