Social Media and TMI

This evening, while eating dinner and cyber-stalking my “friends” on Facebook, I came across the following status updates:

“My cat just pissed in my shoes.”

“My boyfriend just dumped me 😦 ”

“I have gas.”

Now, sharing interesting tidbits via social media is all well and good, but lately, both Facebook and Twitter have become minefields of ridiculous oversharers. It’s as if the world cannot deal with anything going on in their lives until they’ve reached for their phones and texted or tweeted about it.

It can be wonderful to have hundreds of virtual and real life friends flock to your aid in a matter of minutes. But what if this immediate rescue response prevents us from being able to save ourselves from emotional conflict? What if we stop being able to talk ourselves off of the bridge?

Awhile ago, I dropped my phone in the toilet. Unable to constantly check Facebook or tweet about my where-abouts or text my friends, I went a little crazy and locked myself in the apartment with my computer. Sitting in my bedroom infront of the monitor, I was able to stay connected to the world, but since I didn’t have the on-the-go luxury of my phone, I could not participate in it. Without the instant updates on friends, news, etc, I felt lost, even if it was just for the four days I waited to receive a new phone.

Have we forgotten what it’s like to just be quiet? There’s this constant stream of communication going on all of the time and most of it I feel is just white noise. I mean, does anybody seriously care  that my dog is constipated? No.

And when does the line between your social media life and your real life begin to blur? There is this talk about “self branding,” creating a distinct, marketable image of yourself on the Internet for employers to find. But how much of your Internet self is real? Or is it just false campaigning and advertisement?

We have to be careful about losing ourselves in this world of new technology and social media. We have to remember that face-to-face interaction is way better than texting and the real world, the world outside of your home, is much more interesting than reading about somebody else’s life through their blog. We also have to be concerned about our privacy. When does sharing become too much sharing? At what point do we stop and hold information back? What part of ourselves truly only belongs to us anymore?

One response to “Social Media and TMI

  1. WOW! I AM SPEECHLESS! great observations! Finally someone thinks the same as I do…couldnt say anything more!

Leave a Reply

