Go East, Young Woman

So I just got back from a trip to the UK. I went to England, and then Wales for an old friend’s wedding. Along the way I saw a castle, tons of sheep, shared a room with six crazy French women, met an unemployed bartender from Rochester, got lost four times in London in one day, drove in a 30-year-old Mini Cooper, and missed my flight home.

The world is a vast place and we are young. Before babies and mortgages and marriage and careers I believe you must see as much of the world as you can. I feel that being exposed to different cultures and difficult situations deepens a person’s understanding of the human condition and makes us more patient towards others.

Philadelphia is a difficult city to live in. It hardens a person. Spending just a week in Wales, amongst the rolling, Thomas Hardy looking hills, softened me. I came back jet-lagged, exhausted, but at peace. I drove home from the airport during rush-hour traffic in a sweet afterglow of wanderlust and mild euphoria.

I was always intrigued with people who could fit their entire life in one suitcase. Life is transient, and I think that people should be the same. There is something very pleasing about living a simple life, one full to the brim with experience instead of stuff.

As a newly unemployed, 26-year-old who doesn’t have any real ties to anything, I am at a crossroad in my life. The universe has dropped a gift in my lap and I am only starting to realize this now.

As I am typing this, I am looking out the window and onto the world. I know it sounds corny, but I think that now, more than ever, I wish to be out there and be a part of it. There is something inside of my head whispering, go, go, go…

Leave a Reply

