The Bucket List

So it’s a new year as well as a new decade and I feel exactly the same. I’ve always been a big fan of ‘to do lists’ and I need to kick-start my heart a little bit and get inspired. The following are two lists. One is of the things I want to accomplish in 2010 and the other one is my Bucket List, the things that I want to do before I die. 

2010 

  • Quit smoking
  • Renew my passport
  • Pay back my parents
  • Volunteer my time at a local non profit
  • Kick butt at roller derby
  • Finish writing something (a novel, a novella, a short story…)
  • Get something published
  • Be ready to leave for South Korea next winter
  • Go to Wales for Becky’s wedding in September
  • Work on freelance career
  • Be single for the entire year
  • Eat my veggies
  • Drink more water and less soda
  • Say ‘no’ more often
  • Learn how to cook

Bucket List

  • Write a novel or a book of short stories
  • Live abroad someplace for a year (or two, or three)
  • Learn to brew my own beer
  • Learn how to drive stick
  • Drive across the U.S. by myself
  • Back-pack across Europe
  • Go to Burning Man
  • Ride a mechanical bull
  • Fall madly, deeply, head-over heels in love
  • Buy one piece of really nice, really expensive furniture
  • Ice fish in Alaska
  • Run a marathon
  • Liberate a billboard
  • See the Pyramids
  • Donate a ridiculous amount of money to charity
  • Kiss the most handsome man I’ve ever seen regardless if I know him or not
  • Get a story published in the New Yorker
  • Shave my head
  • Learn both of my parent’s full stories, the best and the worst of them
  • Run away to a very small town for a week and meet all of the locals
  • Plant and grow a garden
  • Take a self-defense course
  • Dance on a bar
  • Adopt/have a child
  • Skydive (preferably with my mother)
  • Smile often
  • Go to grad school
Leave a Reply

