Happiness is a warm puppy

It seems that if given the choice, seven out of ten times human beings will pick negative thoughts over positive ones. I don’t know if this is some innate survival instinct that is lodged deep within our frontal lobe, but it’s a sucky fact of nature. Happiness is a very elusive emotion for me most of the time, but today, everything seems to be going just  swimmingly. So I’m going to take full advantage of the fact that I’m feeling particularly awesome this morning and write down a list of everything that makes me happy. Feel free to add your own in the comments section.

 

Puppies

– Friday nights spent in the company of my closest friends at a filthy bar

– Everything about cupcakes. Baking cupcakes, eating cupcakes, getting cupcakes tattooed on me…

– My family gathered around the kitchen table during a thunderstorm in the summertime singing Irish drinking songs

– Autumn

– The Cure

– Good hair days

– The first few weeks of a brand new relationship when everything is exciting and fresh and there’s potential for anything to happen

– New clothes, particularly new boots and dresses

– How excited my dog is to see me every day when I get home from work

– Having a queen-sized bed all to myself

– A Big Mac

– Pushing myself past my breaking point at derby practice and being able to see through to the other side

– John Hughes’ movies

– Leaving all of my windows open and cuddling up under the sheets next to a warm body

– Scooters

– Two day road trips to different cities

– Writing, writing, writing

– My sisters

– When I have money in my checking account

– The fact that I’m lucky enough to have a job that utilizes my otherwise useless English degree

– A big, worn-in, off-the-shoulder sweatshirt and a pair of leggings

– Inspirational quotes

– Celebrity trainwrecks

– Belgium beer

– The silhouette of a horse in a misty field on a cold Sunday morning

– Seeing my byline in the newspaper and knowing how hard I worked to get my name in print

– Cooking disasters in retrospect

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

