Facing your fear

6a00d83451586c69e201157063fb8c970c-800wi

You gain strength, courage and confidence by every experience in which you really stop to look fear in the face. You are able to say to yourself, ‘I have lived through this horror. I can take the next thing that comes along.’ You must do the thing you think you cannot do.“- Eleanor Roosevelt

 

I am leaving for Houston, Texas in a month. For the past couple of weeks I’ve been a walking nerve ending because I was so worried about asking my new boss for the time off. Even though I deserve it and have been with the company for a year, I was still nervous that she would be mad at me. So today, I just made myself do it. I didn’t even think. I simply left my office, walked up to her desk, and told her I’m taking the week of December 6th off. 

75% of life’s problems exist solely in your head. People make things out to be far worse than they actually are. Anything less of dismemberment or death can be dealt with. But we are constantly forgetting to let go and enjoy life. We are all walking around with hundreds of tiny anchors on our shoulders, crippled by the weight of our own self-doubt. We shouldn’t be asked to do Atlas’s job. And even he needed to shrug his shoulders every once in awhile.

I am that girl that enters into a room and thinks that everybody is judging her, when in reality, everybody else is secretly wondering if I’m judging them. We need to learn to just let go, to not give a damn, and to enjoy the moment. 

Bills will get paid. The economy will eventually even itself out. 2012 may or may not happen. Your friends love you and those who don’t do not even matter. Worry causes you to age quicker. Stress can take whole years off of your life. Now is the time to exhale. 

I think people should do one thing that scares them every day. I’m trying to do that, but sometimes the panic is just too big. Even smoke bombs can’t get the monster out. But we all must remember that life is as wide as it is big. This too shall pass. But it’s better to face your fears now. The day is still young. 1 2 3 go!

Leave a Reply

