The world is vast and I am young.

1876984873_2a026900d4One of the things I never got the chance to do while I was still in college was study abroad. I had the chance to go to Venice one summer but I was too lazy to get all of the information together and thus I spent my summer break waitressing at the Jersey shore. Exotic, isn’t it? 

One of the things that I think everybody should do when they are still in their twenties is live somewhere entirely foreign to them. And I’m not talking about moving to Maryland if you’re from New Jersey. I’m talking about foreign as in a completely different city on a completely different continent where you do not know the language and you cannot stomach the local cuisine. 

Philadelphia is a beautiful, gritty city and I absolutely love it here. But I need room to stretch my legs a bit. I need to test my abilities and see what I’m made of. 

People get so caught up in their own lives that they forget that there is an entire world out there with millions of people they haven’t danced with yet and millions of more people they haven’t yet met. It’s staggering to think how much is out there, how much I still need to see and hear and taste, how many other cities I might possibly fall in love with. There is just so much opportunity out there. It’s a bit staggering, when you think about it. 

The goal is to move to another country when my lease is up. This gives me an entire year to plan and prepare. I am thinking about either applying for a working visa in Australia or teaching English in eastern Asia. I also have some friends in Wales who I could stay with. 

I’ve been a lot of places, but that was mostly family trips with my parents and little brother. I want to go on an adventure by myself, to experience as much as I can before I get locked down in a career or a marriage or a mortgage. Now is the time. I am 25 years old and the world is my oyster. I just need to harvest the pearls.

2 responses to “The world is vast and I am young.

  1. I liked what you said about loving Philly but knowing there are so many other cities you might fall in love with. That’s how I feel at the moment. I’m scared of always staying in the city I live in now. (Of course, I’m also scared of leaving, I suppose.)

  2. Get out there, explore the world and forget about your age! I lived in Berlin for decades and I loved it, I lived in Salzburg and I hated it, I lived and worked in Paris for altogether more than a year and I moved to Philly just 7 months ago, I like it here and I think this city has a lot of potential. What are you waiting for? Get your paperwork done and live in those places!

Leave a Reply

