Rant: Irresponsible Dog Owners

canine-fecal-death-act1Above art done by Joe Boruchow

I think the world would be a better place if everybody owned a dog. Honestly. Dogs make you feel rare. They love you unconditionally and worship the ground you walk on. If humans loved more like dogs, the divorce rate would drop dramatically and chick-lit authors would have to go on unemployment.

With that being said, dog owners must be more responsible about cleaning up after their dog and keeping them on leashes. One of my biggest pet peeves is seeing dog poo on the sidewalk outside of my house. Seriously? Is it that hard to squat down, plastic bag snugly over your hand, and clean up after your beloved pet? I don’t even want to say how many times I’ve tracked dog dirt unknowingly throughout my apartment after stepping in it. Gross. 

Another thing is when people allow their dogs to roam the park freely without a leash on. I have no problem with this behavior if the dog is well trained and stays beside its master at all times. But when I have to scream at somebody because their stupid mutt is trying to hump my bulldog (who, by the way, is spayed and HATES other dogs) and the owner acts like it’s my fault and I’m the bad guy because I’m being dramatic – no. Just no. 

I think I’m going to start a petition: GOOD, RESPONSIBLE DOG OWNERS UNITED AGAINST BAD PEOPLE WHO LEAVE DOG POO IN THE ROAD. Who is with me?

Leave a Reply

