Hello, 2011

The new year is upon us, my friends. It seems like just hours ago that I was bidding farewell to 2009, and here I am doing the same exact thing to 2010.

New Year’s has always held a bittersweet feeling for me. It’s kind of like straddling two different chapters of your life in only one night. It reminds me of standing at the state line, one of my feet in Pennsylvania while the other one rests in New York.

2010 was a pivotal year for me. Friendships were made and broken. I lost a very close friend to a deadly illness. I lost my job and moved back home. I went to Europe and also started freelancing full time.

I feel like 2011 is going to be infinitely cooler than 2010. This time last year all I wanted to do was leave the country. I still want to travel and see the world, but my resolution for 2011 is simply to be okay. I want to become at peace with myself and accept myself for who I am, regardless of what I have or what I lack.

What’re your resolutions? What do you hope 2011 holds?

3 responses to “Hello, 2011

  1. Where are my comments on your last two entries? Can you not take criticism? Oh, that’s right, you are a whiner.

    • Look, this is purely an opinion based blog. I don’t know who you are and why you’re so amped up on criticizing me, and I’m sorry if you were offended. If you don’t agree with what I have to say, then simply don’t read it.

  2. this blog is awful. with everything that is going on in this world, the south philly review features a blog about some twenty-something, trust-fund whining pretentious spoiled hipster wannabe crying about a privileged existence. no one cares whether you remember the snorks. why don’t you write about something useful to the community than your empty shallow life

Leave a Reply

