Uh-Oh Uggs

Maybe I’m becoming a bit judgmental in my old age, but that didn’t stop me from wanting to gouge my eyes out after the first hideous furry boot sighting of 2010. 

The Ugg boot craze (that started wayyyyy back in 2004, when I was still in college) just will not die. For the last six years, I’ve dreaded seeing these dumpy, woolen shoes emerge each autumn. It reminds me of the way small, woodland creatures must feel every spring when the bears stumble out of their caves after a long winter of sleepy hibernation. Even though it’s inevitable, they still loathe it and fear for their lives.

Okay, I get it. Uggs are comfortable. They’re super easy to slip on over a pair of socks and they’re really, really warm. But that doesn’t mean that you have to pair them with denim mini-skirts in late November and complain that your legs are cold. Put on some pants.

I guess I’m just perplexed over the fact that it seems like the worst fads are the ones that last the longest. I really was a huge fan of Sea Monkeys, and POGS, but both of those are long since dead and done with. But Snuggies (OMG a blanket with sleeves?! My life is changed forever!) and Uggs look like they’re here to stay.

Leave a Reply

