Adios, 2009

So in less than a week, 2009 will be over and we will be ringing in the new year. It blows my mind to see how fast this year went by. It seems like just last week I was at the Electric Factory watching Gogol Bordello with my then-boyfriend, drinking my ninth Miller Lite and reminiscing about 2008. I vividly remember that the guy  in front of me was so blitzed that he had trouble standing up and was leaning his haunches into me. I said something nasty to him just before the clock turned midnight and he called me a bitch and that whole situation set the tone for my 2009.

As a whole, the year was one of huge awakening for me. I got my first real big-girl job at the newspaper, I broke up with my live-in boyfriend, and I began slowly discovering what I will and will not tolerate in relationships and friendships. I started setting boundaries for myself, drawing lines in the sand that I expect some people to never, ever cross. In 2009, I began growing up. 

I think that I will remember this year as a year of transition. It was a quiet transition, but a colossal one as well. I didn’t suffer from any serious illness or had anybody close to me die. In fact, no huge tragedy occurred in my life. But I began realizing certain things. I started seeing for the first time what I really wanted out of life and what sacrifices I’d have to make in order to achieve my dreams.

2009 taught me to be my own hero. For so long I have heavily relied on others to provide me with happiness. I never knew that self-gratitude could come from within. People change, relationships fall apart, but I would always be able to depend upon myself. I didn’t need a boyfriend or a single serving of Jesus Christ to rescue me. I could do it myself. I had a job, a car, and a solid foundation that told me what was right and wrong at a very early age. I didn’t need anybody to wipe my ass or leave a trail of breadcrumbs. 

I laid the groundwork for my dreams this year. I have a blueprint of what I want out of my life and what it’ll take in order for me to succeed. I think 2010 is a good year to be like, “YO. It’s go time!”

Leave a Reply

